2019 Woman Business Owner of the Year Award Nominations | NAWBO


2019 Woman Business Owner of the Year Award Nominations

Friday, March 1, 2019 (All day)Tuesday, April 30, 2019 (All day)
2019 Woman Business Owner of the Year Award
Sponsored by Bank of America


Nominations for the 2019 NAWBO National Women Business Owner of the Year Award will be open March 1-April 30.  The award will be presented at the National Women’s Business Conference (WBC) 2019, October 13-15 in Jacksonville, Florida.

The Woman Business Owner of the Year Award recognizes and rewards an entrepreneur who excels at strategy, operations, finances, problem-solving, overcoming adversity and giving back to her community. It’s not based on business size, but rather overall business excellence.

The top three finalists receive these exciting prizes:

  • Complimentary full WBC conference registration

  • Inclusion as a panelist in a WBC breakout session sponsored by Bank of America

  • National exposure on NAWBO social media and communication channels

  • Recognition as a finalist during the Awards Gala and a 4-color headshot and bio in the WBC program book

  • Profile in NAWBO ONE e-publication article leading up to the conference

Winner recieves:

  • Honored at the NAWBO Awards Gala

  • Announced as WBO of the Year in NAWBO communications

  • National press release announcing Gala honorees through PR Newswire

To qualify, all nominees must:

  • Be an active Premier or Virtual NAWBO member in good-standing

  • Participate in the day-to-day operations of the company

  • Own a minimum of 25% of the company

  • Be able to attend the Annual Awards Gala at the National Women’s Business Conference—October 15, 2019 in Jacksonville, Florida—to accept the award

  • Not be a member of the NAWBO National Board of Directors

Members can self-nominate or be nominated by another party. The nomination period is open from April 1 until May 30th.  Please submit supporting documents to contests@nawbo.org by April 30th.


Awards Selection, Judging & Announcement Process

The Awards Selection Committee is comprised of the current NAWBO National Chair, Immediate Past National Chair, Chair of the Presidents Assembly Steering Committee and other members of the National Board. 

The Committee will have exclusive, confidential access to all nomination applications and supporting documents. They judge each nominee using a scoring matrix that outlines the criteria and point system. Once the matrixes are complete, they are submitted to a NAWBO staff member, who then calculates the scores.  The top ten nominees are passed to Bank of America for final scoring.  If there is a tie, the Awards Selection Committee will submit a confidential vote for the winner.

Once the top three finalists confirm they will be attending the Awards Gala to accept the award, their names are announced to NAWBO’s membership and the public on August 15, 2019. If the member cannot attend, the selection will move to the next highest score. The three finalists are provided a press release they can leverage in their local markets

Engineered and Hosted by System Solutions, Inc.