NAWBO San Diego Announces 2016 BRAVO! Award Winners | NAWBO

NAWBO San Diego Announces 2016 BRAVO! Award Winners


For More Information:
Helna Correll, NAWBO San Diego


SAN DIEGO—May 25, 2016 —The National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) San Diego promotes, supports and educates women business owners in achieving success. NAWBO celebrated the power and achievements of female entrepreneurs at its annual awards dinner on May 18, honoring all nominees and announcing the six BRAVO! Award winners.

Congratulations go out to:

Woman Business Owner of the Year
Didi Discar, Carling Communications, Inc.

Rising Star Award
Elizabeth Wilson, Seed GC

Signature Award
Linda Strand, Independent Energy Solutions

Green Community Award
Pauline Martinson, I Love a Clean San Diego

Trailblazer Award
Gulsum Rustemoglu, GEPermit and Kosu Dunyamiz

Women's Advocate of the Year
Leslie Fishlock, Geek Girl

The gala evening also included an inspirational and energetic keynote presentation from Penny Wing, founder and CEO of Brojure. Wing shared how she has successfully built and subsequently sold three companies prior to Brojure. A silent auction held during the festivities raised scholarship funds for women business students at San Diego City College.

BRAVO! sponsors include US Bank, SDG&E, Bank of America, Zeldes Haeggquist & Eck, GEPermit, San Diego International Airport, CA State Assembly, Communication Works, Inc., Independent Energy Solutions, Sash, PromoVentures, Inc., and BGreen Branding.

NAWBO is the premier organization for women business owners. For more information about the San Diego chapter, visit

About NAWBO San Diego
NAWBO San Diego is one of 80 U.S. chapters of NAWBO, a national non-profit organization of more than 7,000 members that represents women business owners across all industries. Since 1975, NAWBO has helped women evolve their businesses by sharing resources and providing a single voice to shape economic and public policy. For more information, visit

Engineered and Hosted by System Solutions, Inc.