About %1 | NAWBO


About %1

  • “NAWBO is a great organization for women entrepreneurs that provides an outlet for women business owners across the country to share their creativity an inspire and support each other in their pursuits.”

    Katrina Markoff

    Founder, CEO and Chocolatier of Vosges Haut Chocolat and Wild Ophelia

  • "I am fortunate to be a woman in America who was given the opportunity to achieve her dream. I want women everywhere to have that same opportunity and am pleased to work with the NAWBO Institute for Entrepreneurial Development to increase opportunities for women entrepreneurs."

    Sara Blakely

    Spanx founder and head of The Sara Blakely Foundation

  • "...We worked hard to position the emergence of women business owners as a growing segment of the women's movement and to develop the organizational base and structural guidelines for a national association. "

    Susan Hager

    Founding NAWBO National President


Southern Nevada Women Receive the ICONIC 2018 Women of Distinction Award from the National Association of Business Owners of Southern Nevada

Las Vegas, Nevada, May 9, 2018 Thirteen ICONIC women in Southern Nevada have earned the Women of Distinction Award from the National Association of Women Business Owners of Southern Nevada (NAWBO Souther Nevada). The women received the awards May 1st during NAWBO Southern Nevada's 18th annual Women of Distinction Awards celebration at the Conference Center of Las Vegas in Las Vegas, Nevada.

In 1998 NAWBO Southern Nevada launched the Women of Distinction Awards, honoring women from all walks of life for their work in improving Southern Nevada' business landscape. This year's Women of Distinction Awards, known as WODA, featured remarkable women from a vaariety of industries and backgrounds. Their strength, poise and success are an inspiration to Southern Nevadans.

Our 2019 awards will be held in May 2019. 

Congratulations to our 2018 Women of Distinction Award winners:

Recipients WODA 2018 with NAWBO

Arts/Entertainment/Media: Michelle Johnson, Diva Las Vegas Productions

Business/Retail/Manufacturing: Leanna Jenkins, Nevada Business Opportunity Fund

Corporate/Government Services: Irene Bustamante Adams, Nevada State Assembly

Education: Dr. Carrie Buck, Pinecrest Academy of Nevada

Gaming/Hospitality/Convention Services: Dawn Christensen, MGM Resorts

Medical/Healthcare Services: Sasha Decania, Destinations

Philanthropy/Community Services: Dr. Reeta Thukral, Global Charity Foundation

Professional Services: Debbie Banko, Link Technologies

Real Estate/Construction: Lelia Friedlander, TuffSkin Surface Protection LLC

STEM (Science-Technology Engineering-Mathematics): Eileen Christensen, BEC Environmental, Inc.

Entrepreneur of the Year: Jo Cato, Periwinkle Group

Rising Star: Ava Mucikyan, The Salt Room

Glass Ceiling: Debra March, City of Henderson

A panel of community leaders and peers served as the competition's judges that had the challenging task of narrowing down the 160 nominations to 39 finalists and ultimately the 13 recipients who were honored on May 1st with more than 300 in attendace.